Calculators

Daily daycare costs

Determine the net daily cost of your childcare expenses

The parental contribution payable in respect of a child in subsidized childcare is composed of a basic contribution and an additional contribution adjusted according to family income.

  • The basic contribution is indexed annually on January 1.
  • The government took the first step toward complete elimination of the additional contribution by freezing the contribution at the 2018 amount starting in 20191.

As of January 1, 2019, the basic contribution is $8.252 per day, per child. If your net family income3 is $52 220 or less, you have no additional contribution to pay.

As of an income of $52 220, the additional contribution is $0.70 per day, for a daily rate of $8.95. As of an income of $78 320, the additional contribution increases gradually until it reaches $13.90 per day, which corresponds to an income of $166 320, for a maximum daily rate of $22.15.

  • The additional contribution is reduced by 50% for a second child.
  • No additional contribution is payable for a third child and subsequent children.

The basic rate is payable directly to the subsidized childcare service, while the additional contribution according to family income is paid when the income tax return is filed. To avoid having to pay the full amount on filing the tax return, you can ask your employer to adjust your source deductions of income tax so as to pay your additional contribution during the year.

___________

1 In the fall 2018 Update on Québec’s Economic and Financial Situation, the government announced a freeze on the additional contribution for subsidized childcare as of 2019. However, the freeze on the additional contribution is conditional on the passing of a legislative amendment.

2 Estimate of the basic contribution payable to the childcare service. In accordance with the Reduced Contribution Regulation (CQLR, c. S-4.1.1, r.1), the amount of the basic contribution will be indexed on January 1, 2019. The Minister of Families will publish the result of the indexation by a notice in the Gazette officielle du Québec.

3 Your net family income corresponds to line 275 of your income tax return. If you had a spouse on December 31, 2019, your family income corresponds to your net income and that of your spouse (line 275 of your spouse’s tax return).

To determine the net daily cost of your childcare expenses depending on your family situation, please use the calculator below.

The calculator for your childcare cost per day

To estimate the reserve, per pay period, for your additional contribution for subsidized childcare, use the calculator below.

The calculator for your additional contribution for childcare expenses

Caution

The calculators enable you to estimate the assistance to which you may be entitled, and your additional contribution for childcare expenses. Their calculations are based on certain assumptions intended to reflect the most common situations. The calculators are meant to provide only an estimate. The exact amounts will be determined when you file your income tax return, on the basis of the specific characteristics of each measure and according to the particular situation of your household.

Outils de calcul

Coût de garde quotidien

Connaître le coût quotidien net des frais de garde

La contribution demandée au parent dont l’enfant fréquente un service de garde subventionné est composée d’une contribution de base et d’une contribution additionnelle modulée selon le revenu familial.

  • La contribution de base est indexée annuellement le 1er janvier.
  • Afin de poser un premier geste vers l’abolition complète de la contribution additionnelle, le gouvernement a annoncé le gel de cette contribution à compter de 2019 au montant qui prévalait en 20181.

À compter du 1er janvier 2019, la contribution de base est de 8,25 $2 par jour, par enfant. Ainsi, si votre revenu familial net3 est de 52 220 $ ou moins, vous n’avez pas de contribution additionnelle à débourser.

À compter d’un revenu de 52 220 $, la contribution additionnelle est de 0,70 $ par jour, pour un tarif quotidien de 8,95 $. À partir d’un revenu de 78 320 $, la contribution additionnelle augmente graduellement jusqu’à ce qu’elle atteigne 13,90 $ par jour, ce qui correspond à un revenu d’environ 166 320 $, pour un tarif quotidien maximal de 22,15 $.

  • La contribution additionnelle est réduite de moitié pour le second enfant.
  • Aucune contribution additionnelle n’est demandée à l’égard du troisième enfant et des suivants.

Le tarif de base est payable directement au service de garde subventionné, alors que la contribution additionnelle en fonction du revenu familial sera versée au moment de produire la déclaration de revenus. Par ailleurs, pour éviter d’avoir à verser la totalité du montant lors de la déclaration de revenus, vous pouvez demander à votre employeur d’ajuster vos retenues d’impôt à la source afin de payer votre contribution additionnelle en cours d’année.

___________

1 À l’occasion du Point sur la situation économique et financière du Québec, le gouvernement a annoncé le gel de la contribution additionnelle pour la garde d’enfants à compter de 2019. Toutefois, le gel de la contribution additionnelle demeure conditionnel à l’adoption d’une modification législative.

2 Estimation de la contribution de base payable au service de garde. Conformément au Règlement sur la contribution réduite (RLRQ, c. S-4.1.1, r.1), la contribution de base sera indexée le 1er janvier 2019. Le résultat de cette indexation sera publié par le ministre de la Famille au moyen d’un avis à la Gazette officielle du Québec.

3 Le revenu familial net correspond à la ligne 275 de votre déclaration de revenus. Si vous avez un conjoint au 31 décembre 2018, votre revenu familial correspond à votre revenu net plus celui de votre conjoint (ligne 275 de sa déclaration de revenus).

Pour connaître le coût quotidien net des frais de garde selon votre situation familiale, utilisez le calculateur ci-dessous.

Le calculateur de votre coût de garde quotidien

Pour évaluer la provision par paie pour la contribution additionnelle aux services de garde subventionnés,
utilisez le calculateur ci-dessous.

Le calculateur de votre contribution additionnelle aux services de garde subventionnés

Avertissement

Les calculateurs permettent d’estimer les aides auxquelles vous pourriez avoir droit ainsi que votre contribution additionnelle pour frais de garde. Les calculs sont basés sur certaines hypothèses destinées à refléter les situations les plus courantes. Les calculateurs ne visent qu’à fournir une estimation. Les montants exacts seront déterminés lors de la production de votre déclaration de revenus sur la base des caractéristiques propres à chacune des mesures et en fonction de la situation particulière de votre ménage.

Dernière mise à jour le : 3 décembre 2018