The
Generations
Fund

The Québec Economic Plan — March 2018

Version française

Tackling the debt

The Act to reduce the debt and establish the Generations Fund was passed on June 15, 2006 with the goal of reducing Québec’s debt burden.

The Generations Fund is a fund dedicated exclusively to repaying Québec’s debt.

So as not to leave future generations the burdensome legacy of having to repay the public debt, the debt reduction objectives to be achieved for 2025-2026 were set in the Act to reduce the debt and establish the Generations Fund.

Debt reduction objectives

The debt reduction objectives included in the Act to reduce the debt and establish the Generations Fund are as follows:

The gross debt burden has decreased for the third consecutive year. As at March 31, 2018, the gross debt will stand at $204.5 billion, or 49.6% of GDP.

This ratio will be 45.0% of GDP as at March 31, 2023. The gross debt reduction objective will therefore be achieved in 2022-2023.

The debt representing accumulated deficits will stand at $115.1 billion, or 27.9% of GDP, as at March 31, 2018. The objective for reducing the debt representing accumulated deficits will be achieved in 2025-2026, as stipulated in the Act.

Sums allocated to the Generations Fund

In order to finance the Generations Fund, we have turned to our most important renewable collective resource: water, Québec’s blue gold.

The Generations Fund is financed by revenue sources dedicated to debt repayment and consisting of, in particular, water-power royalties from Hydro-Québec and private producers of hydroelectricity.

The Generations Fund also receives sums relative to the indexation of the price of heritage electricity, an additional contribution from Hydro-Québec, mining revenues, the specific tax on alcoholic beverages, the liquidation of unclaimed property administered by Revenu Québec, a portion of the proceeds of government asset sales, and gifts, legacies and other contributions received by the Minister of Finance.

The Act also allows the government to order that a part, which it establishes, of any sum that would otherwise have been attributed to the General Fund of the Consolidated Revenue Fund be allocated to the Generations Fund.

The sums allocated to the Generations Fund are deposited with the Caisse de dépôt et placement du Québec and managed in accordance with an investment policy determined by the Minister of Finance in collaboration with the Caisse. The income thus generated on these investments helps to grow the Generations Fund and pay the debt down more quickly.

The Generations Fund will reach $17.8 billion as at March 31, 2023

The accelerated growth of the Generations Fund and the sound financial framework could enable Québec to advance to a new stage by using a portion of the accumulated sums to begin effectively repaying its debt.

In this context, the March 2018 Québec Economic Plan provides for the use of $2 billion per year from the Generations Fund, as of 2018-2019, to repay maturing borrowings on financial markets. That is, $10 billion over five years.

Taking into account the deposits made since its creation and those forecast for the coming years, as well as the use of the fund to repay maturing borrowings, the Generations Fund will reach $17.8 billion as at March 31, 2023.

Growth in the book value of the Generations Fund
(millions of dollars)

Note: From 2018-2019 to 2022-2023, the government will use $2 billion per year from the Generations Fund to repay its borrowings reaching maturity.

Deposits in the Generations Fund provided for in the March 2018 Québec Economic Plan

The March 2018 Québec Economic Plan provides for the following deposits in the Generations Fund:

For more information, see the following budget papers:

The two following links will open a PDF document in a new window

Click here to find out more about Québec’s debt.

Le Fonds
des générations

Le Plan économique du Québec — mars 2018

English version

S’attaquer à la dette

La Loi sur la réduction de la dette et instituant le Fonds des générations a été adoptée le 15 juin 2006 avec l’objectif de réduire le fardeau de la dette du Québec.

Le Fonds des générations est un fonds affecté exclusivement au remboursement de la dette du Québec.

Afin de ne pas léguer aux générations futures le lourd héritage du remboursement de la dette publique, des objectifs de réduction de la dette à atteindre pour l’année 2025-2026 ont été fixés dans la Loi sur la réduction de la dette et instituant le Fonds des générations.

Les objectifs de réduction de la dette

Les objectifs de réduction de la dette inscrits dans la Loi sur la réduction de la dette et instituant le Fonds des générations sont de :

Pour une troisième année consécutive, le poids de la dette brute est en diminution. Au 31 mars 2018, la dette brute s’établira à 204,5 milliards de dollars, ce qui équivaut à 49,6 % du PIB.

Ce ratio s’établira à 45,0 % du PIB au 31 mars 2023. L’objectif de réduction de la dette brute sera donc atteint en 2022-2023.

Quant à la dette représentant les déficits cumulés, elle s’établira à 115,1 milliards de dollars au 31 mars 2018, ce qui équivaut à 27,9 % du PIB. L’objectif de réduction de la dette représentant les déficits cumulés sera atteint en 2025-2026, comme prévu dans la Loi.

Les sommes consacrées au Fonds des générations

Pour financer le Fonds des générations, notre ressource collective renouvelable la plus importante est mise à contribution : l’eau, l’or bleu du Québec.

Ainsi, le Fonds des générations est alimenté par des sources de revenus dédiées au remboursement de la dette constituées notamment de redevances hydrauliques provenant d’Hydro-Québec et des producteurs privés d’hydroélectricité.

Le Fonds des générations bénéficie également des sommes relatives à l’indexation du prix de l’électricité patrimoniale, à une contribution additionnelle d’Hydro-Québec, aux revenus miniers, à la taxe spécifique sur les boissons alcooliques, à la liquidation des biens non réclamés administrés par Revenu Québec, à une partie du produit des ventes d’actifs du gouvernement ainsi qu’aux dons, legs et autres contributions reçus par le ministre des Finances.

La Loi permet également au gouvernement de décréter que soit affectée au Fonds des générations la partie qu’il fixe de toute somme qui, autrement, aurait été attribuée au fonds général du fonds consolidé du revenu.

Les sommes consacrées au Fonds des générations sont déposées à la Caisse de dépôt et placement du Québec et gérées suivant une politique de placement déterminée par le ministre des Finances, en collaboration avec la Caisse. Les revenus ainsi générés sur les placements contribuent à faire fructifier le Fonds des générations et à accélérer la réduction de la dette.

Le Fonds des générations atteindra 17,8 milliards de dollars au 31 mars 2023

L’accélération de la croissance du Fonds des générations et la solidité du cadre financier donnent la possibilité au Québec de passer à une nouvelle étape, en utilisant une partie des sommes accumulées pour entamer le remboursement effectif de la dette.

Dans ce contexte, le Plan économique du Québec de mars 2018 prévoit l’utilisation d’une somme de 2 milliards de dollars par année, à compter de 2018-2019, provenant du Fonds des générations, pour rembourser des emprunts sur les marchés financiers venant à échéance, soit 10 milliards de dollars sur cinq ans.

En tenant compte des versements effectués depuis sa création et de ceux prévus au cours des prochaines années, ainsi que de l’utilisation du fonds pour rembourser des emprunts venant à échéance, le Fonds des générations atteindra 17,8 milliards de dollars au 31 mars 2023.

Évolution de la valeur comptable du Fonds des générations
(en millions de dollars)

Note : De 2018-2019 à 2022-2023,le gouvernement utilisera 2 milliards de dollars par année provenant du Fonds des générations pour rembourser des emprunts venant à échéance.

Versements au Fonds des générations prévus dans le cadre du Plan économique du Québec de mars 2018

Le Plan économique du Québec de mars 2018 prévoit les versements suivants au Fonds des générations :

Consultez les fascicules :

Les deux hyperliens suivant ouvriront un document PDF dans une nouvelle fenêtre

Cliquer ici pour en savoir davantage à propos de la dette du Québec.